Why is there no confirm to delete row in timesheet

  • 6
  • Idea
  • Updated 2 weeks ago
  • Not Planned
A user is able to delete a row in their time distribution grid, even if hours are saved, without the tool confirming that deletion is ok.



The 'clear all' function asks if you are sure, but an individual row does not.
With the auto-save function there is no undo for the users.
This is an issue as the user may not know what information is needed to re-create the entries, if they even notice that the row has gone.

Can this be resolved?
Photo of Travis, Claire

Travis, Claire

  • 7 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 7 months ago

  • 6
Photo of Aashnee Kamboj

Aashnee Kamboj, Community Moderator

  • 1439 Posts
  • 102 Reply Likes
Hi Claire,

Thank you for reporting this.

I will have this discussed internally and update you accordingly

Thanks,
Aashnee
Photo of Charlene Eriksen

Charlene Eriksen, Product Manager

  • 334 Posts
  • 37 Reply Likes
Hi Claire, 

I think this is one of those things that people have differing opinions on. Some people would like a confirmation and some find them cumbersome. I'll leave this post open and we'll see if other customers have thoughts on this.

Thanks,
Charlene
Photo of Travis, Claire

Travis, Claire

  • 7 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
It would be great if other customers would need this too. I would hope that customers would find confirmation that they are about to delete hours logged reassuring rather than cumbersome.

Although it would be great to see all rows to be deleted confirmed this could be limited to just those with hours saved; As the 'Classic' version does now.

Maybe customers could turn on new functionality like this in template configuration. Then customers can choose to use it or not.
Photo of Lo, Wai

Lo, Wai

  • 7 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
I was just about to submit this as a new idea but found this request.  

This has also been raised by our senior management team as an issue.  I agree that the Gen4 timesheet makes it too easy for entire lines of timesheet data to be deleted with no way of retrieving this or re-entering it easily. 

Perhaps where data is present a confirmation prompt should appear before deletion or provide administrators with the ability to enable/disable the deletion prompt. 

Please could this be reconsidered for future releases
Photo of Bann, David

Bann, David

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Agreed, this is a problem and a huge frustration for some of our staff who have mistakenly deleted a row that was already filled with time and comments. It is then a real challenge to remember all the comments that were entered. 
Photo of Meyer, Philipp

Meyer, Philipp

  • 28 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
I add myself to the list of people  (and organisations) that would appreciate this feature.
We had this issue several times that a user deleted a row accidentaly and lost the booking including comments!
Photo of Kathy

Kathy

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I would also like to add my company to this list of requesting a confirmation button. Folks can get "click happy" and accidentally delete their rows. 

If the concern is that some people find it cumbersome, is this at least something that can be toggled on and off by user by an Admin?