Can I lock timesheets after submission?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 weeks ago
  • Answered
We're noticing that sometimes employees will submit their timesheets and then later reopen them to make changes. This isn't always an issue, but if a project manager has already run an hours report, any changes made to timesheets after the fact will make the report incorrect. 

Is there a way to not allow employees to reopen a timesheet after it's been submitted, even if it has not been approved yet by anyone? We would prefer they reach out to us to reopen it if they need to make changes so we have a record of it. 
Photo of Barens, Kelly

Barens, Kelly

  • 81 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes

Posted 4 weeks ago

  • 1
Photo of Patty Seymour

Patty Seymour

  • 6 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
We have our customer facing timesheets lock after they are submitted for this reason and in case they were already invoiced to the customer. Along with this we had to implement a form and process for making changes to timesheets in a controlled manner.  You will want to emphasize the need to get the timesheets right the first time and ensure they go through PM Approval path.  Good luck. 
Photo of Barens, Kelly

Barens, Kelly

  • 81 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
None of our timesheets are customer facing. Where is the setting for that? I haven't been able to find anything like it. 
(Edited)
Photo of Charlene Eriksen

Charlene Eriksen, Product Manager

  • 422 Posts
  • 43 Reply Likes
Hi Kelly,

If you disable both of these options in the user's timesheet template, they shouldn't be able to reopen their timesheets.



Let me know if you have trouble finding them.

Thanks,
Charlene
Photo of Barens, Kelly

Barens, Kelly

  • 81 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
Thanks Charlene! That did the trick!