" All user" assigned when creating a new project

  • 7
  • Idea
  • Updated 5 months ago
  • Not Planned
When we are creating a new Project, I observed by default, it assigns " All Users" to it. How can we disable this assignment. Ideally, we would not like a Project to have " All Users" as by default assignment. Screenshot attached for reference.
Photo of Sateesh Narayan

Sateesh Narayan

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 3 years ago

  • 7
Photo of Aashnee Kamboj

Aashnee Kamboj, Community Moderator

  • 1627 Posts
  • 111 Reply Likes
Hi Sateesh,

Thank you for using the Replicon Community!

We can look at this further. In the mean time, you can try adding projects using our Replicon Import Addin (RIA). When you create a new project using RIA, All Users entity is not added by default.

Thanks,
Aashnee Kamboj
Photo of Sateesh Narayan

Sateesh Narayan

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi Aashnee,

Thanks for your prompt response. Do you still suggest that I should be using RIA tool when I'm adding one single Project. I dont think that is really required. Let me know your thoughts.

Thanks,
Sateesh
Photo of Aashnee Kamboj

Aashnee Kamboj, Community Moderator

  • 1627 Posts
  • 111 Reply Likes
HI Sateesh,

We are looking through the same. You can use RIA as a workaround.

Thanks,
Aashnee
Photo of Ryan

Ryan

  • 1 Post
  • 1 Reply Like
Hi Aashnee, has this been fixed?  How can we disable the default of assigning "All Users" on project creation?
Photo of Holmes, Jamie

Holmes, Jamie

  • 2 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
I really agree with Sateesh's request - this has been one of the main issues with Replicon since we started using it over 4 years ago. The issue that this causes is that if you forget to delete "All users" then anyone you then assign to the project with a specific rate now has the option of using the rate assigned to "All users" and the user rate - inevitably the one assigned to all users is the project rate which has not been set correctly, but is the one all my team end up using (sod's law) and we end up not billing - this happens so often and it seems such a simple config setting to allow this to be default or not - PLEASE!!!!
(Edited)
Photo of Lo, Wai

Lo, Wai

  • 14 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
I too agree, this has been raised as a business requirement by our senior management team.

The main attraction of Replicon is the ability to restrict access to projects and tasks giving us better control than our previous timesheet system.

It is therefore very strange that the default is to grant all users access to a project / task upon creation.

We are currently using Gen4 and I have granted line managers permission to assign resources to tasks as they see fit.  So having a default of no users assigned would work better for us or perhaps give administrators the ability to define the default setting.

Please can this be re-considered for future releases. 
Photo of Meyer, Philipp

Meyer, Philipp

  • 32 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Upvote for this - we see the very same issues described by Jamie Holmes and it would make our lives easier if this "All users"-default would be removed!
Photo of JJ

JJ

  • 41 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
I agree, removing the default of "All Users" will reduce the number of issues we see.
Photo of Jeanne Bovenkerk

Jeanne Bovenkerk

  • 25 Posts
  • 11 Reply Likes
I came up with a workaround using Gen3 Replicon that might help some of you. I created a template project that I keep in Replicon's "Tentative" status. Every time I create a new project, I go to the project I call "Template - Project X" and copy it and it keeps the distribution list I formerly set.  I have multiple templates for various purposes.  Certain fields such as the project description field don't carry over and the project manager always defaults to me when I copy but I live with that for now.  
Photo of Drema Herron

Drema Herron

  • 33 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
This is our solution as well. As long as the templates are used properly it works very well. A team can set up a template that has their team members included, and assigned to the appropriate tasks. Copying the template makes project set up much cleaner and smoother. We use a lot of custom fields in the Project Info screen, so going there to populate those and reassign the PM if necessary is a routine part of the process. Saves a lot of work over starting a project from scratch.
Photo of Barker, Dan

Barker, Dan

  • 11 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
This has been around for 2 years and there is still no way to change the default all user setting?