Why are some billing rates crossed out under Client Billing Rates tab?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Answered
I have noticed that under the Client Billing Rates tab, some of the projects appear with a strike-through line even though they are enabled. At first I thought this was because there were hours put against those billing rates, which doesn't really make sense to me. But after looking at other clients I see that having hours logged does not appear to be the cause of this. Can someone explain to me what this means exactly? See screenshots below.
Photo of Barens, Kelly

Barens, Kelly

  • 67 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Aashnee Kamboj

Aashnee Kamboj, Community Moderator

  • 1558 Posts
  • 108 Reply Likes
Hi Kelly,

We are looking through this and will revert shortly.

Thanks,
Aashnee Kamboj
Photo of Barens, Kelly

Barens, Kelly

  • 67 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
I have not heard back on this. Any news on why this is happening?
Photo of Rose

Rose

  • 111 Posts
  • 17 Reply Likes
Hi We have the same problem

Thanks

Rose
Photo of Aashnee Kamboj

Aashnee Kamboj, Community Moderator

  • 1558 Posts
  • 108 Reply Likes
Hi Kelly and Rose,

The reason why a billing rate appears striked out on the Client or Project level Billing Rate section is because the billing rate was used for a time entry and later the billing rate was removed from the client or the project. Here are the steps to show the explanation:

In the below screenshot, my client has a billing rate called "Senior Consultant". There are 32 hours entered in the system against this client and a project and with this billing rate selected



Now I try and remove this billing rate from the client level



The moment I click on Yes, the billing rate remains on the screen but with a strike out on it.


The reason why we keep the billing rate on the screen is because there are hours entered against it and those hours contribute to the Actual Billing that you see for the client. In case the billing rate is not striked out but completely removed, the hours would be gone and a client manager would not know the reason of the actual billing data showing up there.

Thanks,
Aashnee
Photo of Barens, Kelly

Barens, Kelly

  • 67 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
I see. So basically, if we see a billing rate crossed out in a project or client it means that there are hours in the system using that billing rate but at some point the rate was deleted from the client/project. All we have to do to remove the strikethrough is re-add that billing rate.

Thank you very much for your assistance.
Photo of Aashnee Kamboj

Aashnee Kamboj, Community Moderator

  • 1554 Posts
  • 108 Reply Likes
Hi Kelly,

Your understanding about removing the strike out is absolutely correct. Please re-add the Billing Rates to remove the striking!

Thanks,
Aashnee