Emailing reports

  • 1
  • Idea
  • Updated 7 months ago
  • Not Planned
I knew exactly what the problem was before the call... the program requires you to save the report before you can email it or it emails the previous report (not the one that shows on your screen). This is NOT intuitive - as the report on the screen is the one that prints, down loads, etc... it is only when emailing does it revert to the previously saved report. The help desk person as well didn't know that it did this until I showed it to him (he first thought maybe it was a browser issue). So if it is not intuitive to your help desk staff it definately won't be intuitive to users. I am sure many incorrect reports are emailed by mistake (Maybe not even knowing that the incorrect report was mailed). My solution would be to have a warning message appear BEFORE you can email stating you must save the report prior to emailing.
Photo of Daria Taylor

Daria Taylor

  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
  • that many people send the wrong report without even knowing it.

Posted 4 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Naveen Chander

Naveen Chander, Product Manager

  • 39 Posts
  • 12 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hello Daria,

I understand the issue and agree with you. The intuitiveness of the email functionality in Reports needs some improvement, so that this aspect is more apparent. At this time, the email engine is only able to read the saved state of the report and any changes made to the report settings in the UI is not accessible to the email engine until the report is saved.

That being said, this is something that we will consider for future releases.

Thank you again for posting.

Regards,

Naveen
Product Manager
(Edited)