Disabled users - project/task tidy up required

  • 2
  • Idea
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Not Planned

Due to an issue regarding the users listed in the "User" filter of a project report containing disabled users which is believed to be because they are still listed in the projects, it would be great if the system removed the user from all clients, programmes, projects and associated tasks when they are disabled.

I am finding that I cannot remove a manager from the project manager list or customer representative list because they are already assigned to a project somewhere, most likely an old closed project.

The system becomes untidy when users cannot be removed from drop lists because they are referenced elsewhere but are no longer with the Company e.g. Client Manager, Client Representative etc..

Photo of admin, admin

admin, admin

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 3 years ago

  • 2
Photo of Lingaraj Dharwad

Lingaraj Dharwad, Product Champion

  • 1100 Posts
  • 46 Reply Likes
Hi Admin,

Thank you for submitting your idea.

Users who are disabled will still show up in the drop down because reports are the only way for companies to report on such disabled users. Technically speaking a user has a lot of data points and connections in terms of Timesheets, Time Offs or Expenses due to which its nearly impossible to delete a user from the system completely. 

As seen from the screenshot below, the User filter does have a sub filter 'User Status' which will allow you to filter out disabled users during reporting. 



Replicon always recommends that you disable a user instead of trying to delete it. This helps during audits as the information is always available at hand. 

Let me know if that information helps.

Regards,
Lingaraj
(Edited)
Photo of admin, admin

admin, admin

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

I think you maybe confused with my request.  I am not saying delete the user from the system as you state they will have a number of "closed" records e.g. timesheets, expenses, time off requests and can therefore never be removed from the system. However, it should be permissible to remove the availability of a user from a list such as the client representatives.

At the moment when administering the Client Representatives there is no option to hide disabled users. There is a X (to remove)  next to each user but this X is only valid if that user is not a client representative for any of the projects regardless if they are closed or not. You can press the X and the user disappears but when you select SAVE the user pops back into the list.  It would be nice if the system at least popped up a window with the project that is causing the issue.  This would give you the chance to open up the project and remove the user.

Also, you should not be able to assign a disabled user to an active client/project/task etc...



Photo of Charlene Eriksen

Charlene Eriksen, Product Manager

  • 347 Posts
  • 37 Reply Likes
Hi admin,

For the Client Reps, I would suggest removing the Client Representative permission from the user. Afterwards, they'll no longer show up for selection in the Client Rep dialog. (Any existing Client Rep assignments should be retained however).



As for assigning disabled users to projects, I wouldn't expect you to be able to add the user as a new assignment. Existing assignments would remain as is. If you are able to assign disabled users, please provide us more details so we can look into it.

Thanks,
Charlene
Photo of Lingaraj Dharwad

Lingaraj Dharwad, Product Champion

  • 1100 Posts
  • 46 Reply Likes
Hi Admin,

I see that you're referring to the below warning message one gets while removing a disabled user with Client Representative permission post being disabled from a Client. 



It certainly would be convenient to view a list of projects a Client Representative is associated with, we will pass this feedback to our PM team. Having said that, as shown in the screenshot below, you can run a report based on Project template with Project Name & Client Representative columns. This will quickly give you the list of projects Client Representative is associated with. 




I have tested the scenario and could not replicate where post disabling a user with Client Representative permission whether one can still add them to Projects. 

Regards,
Lingaraj